33-member ‘Shehbaz ‘ cabinet’ takes oath

ISLAMABAD, Apr 19 (Alliance News): The 33-member federal cabinet comprising members from the mainstream political parties of the country took oath on Tuesday at a swearing-in ceremony held here at the Aiwan-e-Sadr.

Chairman Senate Sadiq Sanjrani administered oath to the cabinet members – 30 federal ministers and three state ministers, a week after he had sworn-in Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif as the head of the government.

Besides PM Shehbaz Sharif, the event was attended by senior politicians including Bilawal Bhutto, former prime ministers Yousuf Raza Gilani and Raja Pervaiz Ashraf, and a large number of parliamentarians, party workers, and government officials.

33-member 'coalition cabinet' takes oath

The new cabinet reflected the political mix of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) and Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM).

Also, one member each from Balochistan Awami Party (BAP), Jamhoori Watan Party and Pakistan Muslim League-Q joined the cabinet. Balochistan National Party stayed away from becoming part of the coalition cabinet.

The opposition alliance had led to the ouster of Prime Minister Imran Khan from his office through a majority no-confidence vote in the parliament on April 10.

On oath, the cabinet made its solemn pledge “to bear true faith and allegiance to Pakistan, discharge its duties honestly to the best of ability and faithfully in accordance with the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan and the law”.

“I will strive to preserve the Islamic Ideology which is the basis for the creation of Pakistan. That I will not allow my personal interest to influence my official conduct or my official decisions,” said the new ministers in chorus-reading of the text of the official oath.

33-member 'coalition cabinet' takes oath

The list of ministers categorized as per their political parties is as under:



1. Khawaja Muhammad Asif, MNA

2. Ahsan Iqbal Chaudhary, MNA

3. Rana Sana Ullah Khan. MNA

4. Sardar Ayaz Sadiq, MNA

5. Rana Tanveer Hussain, MNA

6. Khurrum Dastagir Khan, MNA

7. Marriyum Aurangzeb, MNA

8. Khawaja Saad Rafique, MNA

9. Mian Riaz Hussain Pirzada, MNA

10. Murtaza Javed Abbasi. MNA

11. Azam Nazeer Tarar, Senator

12. Miftah Ismail


13. Syed Khursheed Ahmed Shah, MNA

14. Syed Naveed Qamar, MNA

15. Sherry Rehman, Senator

16. Abdul Qadir Patel, MNA

17. Shazia Marri, MNA

18. Syed Murtaza Mahmud, MNA

19. Sajid Hussain Turi, MNA

20. Ehsaan-ur-Rehman Mazari, MNA

21. Abid Hussain Bhayo, MNA

Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl:

22. Asad Mahmood, MNA

23. Abdul Wasay, MNA

24. Mufti Abdul Shakoor, MNA

25. Muhammad Talha Mahmood, Senator


26. Syed Amin-ul-Haque, MNA

27. Syed Faisal Ali Subzwari, Senator


28. Muhammad Israr Tareen, MNA


29. Nawabzada Shazain Bugti, MNA

30. Chaudhary Tariq Bashir Cheema, MNA


1. Dr. Aisha Ghaus Pasha, MNA – PML-N

2. Hina Rabbani Khar, MNA – PPP

3. Abdul Rehman Khan Kanju, MNA – PML-N

The cabinet also includes Advisers namely Qamar Zaman Kaira, Engineer Amir Muqam and Aon Chaudhry.

The President House in a statement issued prior to the oath-taking ceremony said that President Dr Arif Alvi had given formal approval to the names of the federal and state ministers, and advisers.

Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif on Tuesday said with dedication and persistent work as the motto of the government, the new cabinet would work efficiently towards addressing the problems of the people.

“It is my fervent hope that federal ministers, ministers of state and advisers will provide leadership, and also resolve the problems of the people,” he said in a tweet as his cabinet took oath of office this morning.

The prime minister said the federal cabinet had been formed after thorough consultations with Pakistan Muslim League Leader Mian Nawaz Sharif and the coalition partners.

He said, “Work, work & only work is our motto”.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here